Research Alliance Ruhr

Research Alliance Ruhr - College for Social Sciences and Humanities Logo

The University Alliance Ruhr bundles its cutting-edge, international research under the umbrella of the Research Alliance Ruhr in four research centers and a College for Social Sciences and Humanities.

In its four research centers, the UA Ruhr addresses the topics of health, sustainability, digitalization and energy: “One Health – from Molecules to Systems”, “Chemical Sciences and Sustainability”, “Trustworthy Data Science and Security” and “Future Energy Materials and Systems”. These four areas, chosen on the basis of their international visibility, will undergo further strategic development. You can find current information on the centers here:
https://www.uaruhr.de/researchallianceruhr/index.html.de

The College for Social Sciences and Humanities, in turn, offers these disciplines the thematic openness necessary to situate and integrate research topics. The college promotes interdisciplinary, international exchange, with three research groups and three new professorships established at interdisciplinary intersections, and international visiting scholars invited to the Ruhr region as part of a fellowship programme. The Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI) Essen, one of the oldest joint institutions of the UA Ruhr, serves as a forum for cooperation. With its International Fellowship Programme, Thyssen@KWI Fellowship and five current research focuses, KWI is the springboard for developing the new college. KWI Director Julika Griem acts as a speaker of the college, along with co-speakers Friedrich Balke (RUB), Ute Schneider (UDE) and Maximiliane Wilkesmann (TUD). In close collaboration with colleagues from the participating disciplines at the Ruhr universities, the team of speakers coordinates the measures involved in leveraging internationally visible interdisciplinary research and research-oriented teaching.

Research Alliance Ruhr – College for Social Sciences and Humanities

Research Alliance Ruhr - College for Social Sciences and Humanities Logo

Die Universitätsallianz Ruhr bündelt ihre internationale Spitzenforschung unter dem Dach der Research Alliance Ruhr in vier Research Centern und einem College for Social Sciences and Humanities. Dieses Forschungskolleg für die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften ist organisatorisch am KWI in Essen angesiedelt

In den vier Research Centern adressiert die UA Ruhr die Themen Gesundheit, Nachhaltigkeit, Digitalisierung und Energie: „One Health – from Molecules to Systems”, „Chemical Sciences and Sustainability“, „Trustworthy Data Science and Security“ sowie „Future Energy Materials and Systems“. Diese vier Bereiche sind aufgrund ihrer bestehenden internationalen Sichtbarkeit ausgewählt worden und werden gezielt ausgebaut. Aktuelle Informationen zu den Zentren finden Sie hier.

Das College for Social Sciences and Humanities bietet den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften thematische Offenheit, um Forschungsthemen zu platzieren und zu integrieren. Es fördert gezielt den interdisziplinären und internationalen Austausch, indem drei Forschungsgruppen sowie drei neue Professuren an interdisziplinären Schnittstellen eingerichtet und im Rahmen eines Fellow-Programms internationale Gastwissenschaftler*innen ins Ruhrgebiet eingeladen werden. Als Kooperationsforum fungiert das Kulturwissenschaftliche Institut Essen (KWI), eine der ersten gemeinsamen Einrichtungen der UA Ruhr. Mit seinem International Fellow-Programm, dem Thyssen@KWI-Fellowship und derzeit fünf kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschungsschwerpunkten ist das KWI Impulsgeber und Ausgangspunkt für das neu zu entwickelnde College. Gemeinsam mit Co-Sprecher*innen Friedrich Balke (RUB), Ute Schneider (UDE) und Maximiliane Wilkesmann (TUD) fungiert KWI-Direktorin Julika Griem als Sprecherin des College. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Kolleg*innen der Ruhr-Universitäten koordiniert das Sprecherteam gemeinsam mit dem Geschäftsführer Mark Halawa-Sarholz die Umsetzung der Maßnahmen, die für die beteiligten Disziplinen und Fachbereiche eine größtmögliche international sichtbare Hebelwirkung für interdisziplinäre Forschung und forschungsorientierte Lehre entfalten sollen.